ankara escort bayan ankara escort bayan ankara escort

About Us

Provincial Councils were established under the provisions of the Provincial Councils Act No. 42 of 1987. Provincial Councils constitute the intermediate level of government established within the existing governmental system comprising of two levels, national and local. On 14 th November 1987, the 13 th Amendment to the 1978 Constitution of Sri Lanka was passed in the Sri Lankan Parliament. Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council is the Legislative Body of the Sabaragamuwa Province and possess legislative power over numerous matters including agriculture, education, health, housing, local government, planning, road transport and social services. Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council consists of 05 Ministries, 1 Municipal Council, 03 Urban Councils and 26 Pradeshiya Sabhas. Day by day our complex was developed with various facilities. Some of them are mentioned below.

information center

Information Center is mainly providing relevant information which is related to the citizen services provided by various Provincial council organizations. Citizens can obtain different types of information & statistical data about Sabaragamauwa province. Specially, this center is providing valuable data & information to the school students, university student and other researchers to their research studies. Citizens can obtain these services via telephone calls, by accessing official web portal or by visiting to the information center at the provincial council complex. Center is open during the office hours (8.30 am to 4.15 pm) in week days, except public holidays. (Contact Details for more information : +94 45 2228403)

Physical Fitness Centre (Gymnasium)


Physical Fitness Cente promotes healthy lifestyle of the Provincial council employees. Center is offer a safe and cleans environment in which to exercise. It delivers convenient, all-in-one-place access to equipment and professional exercise guidelines. It helps provincial council employees to do their fit exercise and physical activity into their daily life. Center is open after the office hours in the week days. (4.30pm to 6.30pm).

Medical Centre


Provincial Council Complex Medical center is staffed by a group of general practitioners and nurses providing free medical health services to the government employees and people who visited to the provincial council complex for their official work. Center is open during the office hours (8.30 am to 4 pm) in weed days, except public holidays.

Dental Clinic Centre


Dental Clinic of Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council Complex is functioned by a Dental doctor and a nurse. Government employees of the provincial council are able to acquire the advantage of the dental clinic. This include many dental equipment and provide various services to increase the dental health of government employees of Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council.

Communication Centre with Post Office

Communication center is providing communication facilities to the citizens who visited to the provincial council complex. It is public private partnership business; Center is having Fax, Photocopy, Laminating and Book binding facilities. Communication center is providing register post, normal post and stationary purchasing facility to the citizens at a fair cost. Center is open in the office hours in the week days. (8.30pm to 3.30pm).

Internal Banking Facilities (BOC)


Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council branch of the Bank of Ceylon provide various banking facilities for the Employees of the provincial council complex and public who are visited for their day-to-day work. Moreover, every institute of the Provincial Council uses the BOC branch for their official banking purposes.

Historical Background

Sri Padaya

Sabaragamuwa is the 8th largest province in Sri Lanka in area and located in the south west of the island. It covers an extent of 4,968km2 which is 7.6% of the total land area of the island.The province comprises two administrative districts namely Ratnapura and Kegalle. Ratnapura district is larger having an area of 3,275 km2  while Kegalle covers an area of 1,673 km2 . The total population of Sabaragamuwa was 1,928,655 according to latest census in 2012 and they were distributed by districts of Ratnapura and Kegalle as 1,088,007and 840,648 respectively.The ethnic composition of the population reveals that the Sinhalese as the majority (86.3%) while Sri Lankan Tamil, Indian Tamil and Sri Lanka Moor population comprise 2.3%, 6.9% and 4.2% respectively.Provincial Council is the main government administrative unit in the province. The provincial councils act no.42 of 1987 and the Thirteenth Amendment to the constitution provided the legislative frame for the devolution of powers to provincial councils.  The Thirteenth Amendment to the constitution set in motion a system of sharing of power between the centre and the provinces and created provincial councils with powers to enact statutes.Provincial councils have been vested with power over a wide range of subjects enabling them to provide the people with basic services that would meet their development aspirations.